My new blog, so I’ll introduce myself.

Posted: April 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

I was on one of igoogle’s blog things, works fine but i just don’t care for google having all that info about me.  I’m sure this is no better, but as they say “ignorance is bliss”.

My name is Nick and I’m grease monkey.  I’m a full time college student which means i have a lot of free time on my hands.  To keep me busy I have been working on a old Volkswagen, a ’65 notchback to be exact.  This particular vehicle was sold at a dealership in Frankfurt, Germany, so its a real German car.  This particular model was never imported to the US by VW, its a grey market car.  I have always wanted one and when I found this one for sale 4 hours away I knew it was the one, and since I have fallen complete head over heels in love with it.

Since this entry is about me I’ll give a quick background:

Born in California to a German immigrant mother and first generation Serbian father, the very first car I rode in was a ’68 Karmann Ghia.  There was always a VW of some form or another in my family so I was already pre-destined to have a VW for my first car.  It was a ’72 super and I still have many many fond memories of that car.  After 15 yrs of amazing service I retired it properly by taking a sawzall to it and recycling the metal.  If I can’t have then nobody else can.  That was the start of my VW addiction:  ’72 super, ’73 super, ’73 beetle, ’72 squareback, ’62 beetle, ’74 914, ’71 super, and now a ’65 notch.  It hasn’t always been VW’s, I got big into sportbikes for about 5 years, and I even dabbled with a turbo ’06 civic.  One needs to have a open mind to learn new things.

I served 6 years in the US Navy working on electronics for missile systems, got out and was a field service engineer/R&D tech for 4 years, then went back into the US Army and was a forward observer (13F), airborne, for almost 4 years.  Now I’m finishing my BS degree in Criminal Justice.  I’m what you would call a “wire whisperer”.

I think about sums me up, maybe it even sheds some light to the enteries that I’m about to drop on this world.  Buckle in and hang on, its going to be a bumpy ride 😉

Comments
  1. tommie says:

    Nice a whole SUPA NINJA website.. .PRICELESS!! 🙂

    Chum Bucket!

Leave a Reply

